Potato-Leek Soup

One of my favorite soups growing up was my mom’s potato-leek soup. It’s hearty, comforting, and made of vegetables so clearly must be healthy. I recently tried my hand at making my own version, which was obviously not as good as the original but still definitely held its own. IMG_5886

The great thing about potato-leek soup is that it isn’t very fussy and as long as you have a few key ingredients, you can mix it up however you want. I started with celery, onion, garlic, and of course leeks.

IMG_5880

NOTE: when you’re cutting leeks, be sure to clean them very thoroughly. They have sand inside them for some strange reason and unless you’re trying to do some sort of stone soup thing, no one wants to eat sand.

IMG_5881

Once you’ve cut up all your aromatics, sauté them in butter and olive oil. Make sure to cook them on lower heat so they sweat and all their delicious flavors seep out into the pan. I know “sweating” vegetables sounds gross but it really is the technical term.

Once they are soft and fragrant, add diced potatoes and pour in enough chicken broth to cover it mostly. Also add salt, pepper, and other seasonings you like.

IMG_5883Cook it for a while (I forgot how long I cooked it) until the potatoes are soft. Then, puree the soup using either an immersion blender (if you’re fancy) or a regular blender (if you make $4 an hour like me). Add a dollop of cream and add more seasonings to taste. Serve with toast.

Leave a Reply

