Lolo’s Chicken and Waffles

When I heard there was a restaurant in Phoenix dedicated solely to one of my favorite culinary combos, I was ecstatic and had to go. There’s something magical about the marriage of crispy, savory fried chicken and a fluffy, sweet waffle. I’ve had the chance to sample chicken and waffles at a few different restaurants, and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s a dish that is impossible to ruin. However, it’s still interesting to sample different chefs’ takes on this classic meal.Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 7.53.35 PM

Lolo’s did not disappoint. My meal started with Lolo’s specialty: “a jar of drank.” This is exactly what it sounds like – a large mason jar filled with a beverage. I had their homemade lemonade, my mom had a custom 1/3:2/3 regular tea:sweet tea combo, and my dad opted for plain old water. They also offer Kool-Aid, pop, and alcoholic beverages in these jars of wonder. While I often lament the prevalence of hipsters using jars as drinking vessels in inappropriate situations (i.e., a 6 oz jar as a “water bottle”), there is certainly a time and a place for a good old jarred drank, and this was indeed one.

The main course was even more fantastic. I ordered a waffle with a chicken wing and a breast. It was simple, yet elegant. The breading on the chicken was perfectly seasoned and fried to the perfect golden crunchiness. The chicken inside was juicy, flavorful, and tender – I hardly needed to use my knife to cut into the chicken. The waffle was crispy on the outside and delightfully soft on the inside and came with minced pecans mixed into the batter. The combination of the chicken, waffle, pecans, and – of course – ample butter and syrup made for a beautiful meal. While Lolo’s chicken and waffles was pretty no-frills (aside from the pecans), it may have also been the best. Restaurants that specialize in something usually do it better than others, and Lolo’s was no exception.

Leave a Reply

