Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

Occasionally you’ll hear me say I’m related to Betty Crocker. “What on earth?!” you may be thinking, “How can a real person be related to a fictional character?” Before you dismiss this as crazy talk, hear me out.

I do actually have a distant relative who was named Betty Crocker. While she wasn’t the Betty Crocker, I would say this gets me some street kitchen cred. In addition, my cousin used to work with General Mills’ Betty Crocker test kitchen, which just amplifies my kitchen cred.

Like Betty, I am a big fan of cake. Also like Betty, I’m a big fan of convenience. This is why I entrust much of my cake baking to Betty Crocker boxed cake mix.

IMG_7454 I often embellish the mixes with accoutrements, such as instant pudding or sour cream, to up the ante a bit, but sometimes a cake mix on its own is simply divine. Just as I am advocate for getting over the stigma of certain proletarian beers, I’m also an advocate for getting over the stigma of using baking mix.

Today I made Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes (from a box) with homemade cream cheese frosting. (While I’m always down for cake mix, I’m not such a big fan of canned frosting.) It’s super easy, and red velvet always seems to impress.

IMG_5003.JPG
Many thanks to my roommate Carl for the stunning snapshot. Follow her incredible Instagram: @carley_kiyoko.

For the cupcakes:
1. Make Betty Crocker red velvet batter according to the directions on the box.

2. Pour the batter into a mini cupcake pan.

3. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes. Caution! This is different than what the box will tell you, but I’m right in this instance.

For the frosting:
1. Beat 8oz softened cream cheese (use full fat or don’t even make this recipe), 1/4 cup butter, 3 teaspoons milk, and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

2. Beat in 4 cups powdered sugar one cup at a time.

3. Cream cheese is perishable! Keep the frosting or frosted cakes refrigerated.

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

