On Grocery Shopping Hungry

Many people will use fancy research studies to warn you of the dangers of grocery shopping while hungry. “You just buy junk!” “You buy too much!” “You’re blinded by hunger and forget to get the things you actually need!” But what if grocery shopping hungry is actually the best way to grocery shop?

Last night, I was feeling quite peckish after a very long work day so I stopped at Cub on my way home to pick up a few things. I knew we needed coffee, and I planned to get something quick for dinner too. When I left, my orange Halloween-themed shopping bags (so festive!) contained:

  • 1 Digiorno Supreme frozen pizza
  • 2 Extra Cheese Pizza Lunchables
  • 1 8-pack of those tiny Diet Coke cans
  • 1 tub of hummus
  • 1 bag of Food Should Taste Good olive chips (absolutely divine)
  • 1 bag of coffee
  • 1 box of microwave popcorn packets

Those were the things my brain told me I needed at the time, and thus those were the things I bought. You’ll see no buyer’s remorse here; rather, I was ecstatic when I woke up this morning and instead of packing a lunch just threw a Lunchable and a Diet Coke in my bag!

I look forward to heating that beautiful pizza up someday soon, and in addition to a hearty dinner it will also provide the main course for a day or two of fantastic lunches.

I’ll also be able to fend of future tummy rumbles at work with my handy dandy microwave popcorn. And since I was at Cub, the prices were very reasonable and I’m still very much in line with my #cheaptober food budget.

I propose that grocery shopping while hungry is a way to truly know yourself. The daze of hunger leads you to buy your true deepest desires, and if you keep a Post-It note stuck to your credit card with the essentials you won’t forget those either. I urge everyone to know thyself and shop accordingly. Try it – the results will be truly serendipitous.

 

One thought on “On Grocery Shopping Hungry

  1. Pingback: Free Stuff Friday: Food You Already Bought | Turn Down For Clare

Leave a Reply

